New Years.

Email from January 4th, 2016

Well once again this week has been totally crazy. Crazy busy, crazy weird, crazy wonderful, and crazy hard. I have so much to say an no idea how to say it.

We haven’t met with Allen and Monica for a while because they keep canceling but we stop by from time to time and leave them a chapter in the Book of Mormon to read. The work here in Kirtland is picking up. We found 2 new investigators this week!!! Lyn who was being taught in 4th ward but then moved and the 4th ward Elders have been trying to find him and we found him by tracting down a road that the spirit directed us to. We also got a referral from a member. He is 9 years old and all he talks about is being baptized so we are going to start teaching him on Sundays!! It is really exciting!!! The only reason the work is improving is because of our obedience. I don’t say that to brag but I say it to drive a point. “Obedience brings blessings, exact obedience brings miracles.” As we try to find the things that prevent us from being exactly obedient to the commandments, missionary rules, and the spirit the miracles do come. It is so amazing to see.

This week got way crazy because of the District. There is so much unnecessary drama and contention that I have had to take all my efforts and energy to fix that in order for this District, as a whole, and the individual companionships, to even function. It is honestly really sad. As much as it is sad and could have been avoided I am thankful it happened 1) because it taught me a lot and 2) it made the District and individual companionships stronger. We are all human and make mistakes and have our flaws and as we work through them together that is when we will turn them into strengths. That is what Christ taught his disciples. “Love one another” Sister Hatch as shimasana who gets up every fast Sunday and preaches a sermon talked about that. As funny and cute as it was it was powerful and true. I am really starting to learn what being a disciple of Jesus Christ means and what it really means to love one another. I have also learned a lot about prayer and revelation. Through having to try and sort things out with the missionaries and the District I have received so much revelation as I asked our Father in Heaven what he would have me do. It has been an amazing experience. I will share one experience.

So one day we had to run a weird exchange with some of the Elders that were having contention between them. So one Elder came with us. (We will call him Elder Bob) and the other Elder went with the 4th ward Elders (we will call him Elder Fred). So Elder Bob, Rice and I went out and worked in 5th. We had a lot of success contacting referrals and finding people. We came back and cleaned the house and just Elder Bob talk to us and confide in us. He had been praying for the enabling power of the Atonement to work in his life. Right after he ended his prayer I called to tell him we were going to do a trifecta exchange thing. By acting on the prompting that I had, as weird as it was, I was able to answer his prayers. It turned out to be a big success and a huge help and now Elder Bob and Fred are starting to sort things out.

Another experience I had was to call one of my zone leaders to repentance. I was like what!?!?!?! He is a Zone Leader and I know he is being obedient. He is doing great work why do I need to do this. So I ignored the prompting. Well it kept coming back to the point where I couldn’t ignore it. It needed to be done. So Sunday night we went over there to do numbers and while waiting for the Sisters to get home I took him into a back room and told him how much I love him and care about him and how I am only doing this because the spirit is prompting me to. Then I just told him he needs to be more obedient. Well turns out he was being disobedient. Not intentionally but just from all the stress on his plate with helping Elder Bob and Fred he wasn’t sleeping at night and would then just sleep through studies. (why his companion did nothing about it I don’t know) Well he just confided in me and talked to me and we were both crying. It was a way cool experience. It was a really spiritual experience. I was really scared to but I am glad I did. I was able to help someone who had helped me so much. He then told me that he feels I am the only person he can trust. I told him if he ever needs someone to talk to I am here. It was just an awesome experience.
This week has just been great. Through helping the people in my district I have really grown to love them. Elder Bob I really like (he is the other zone leader, they are in a split companionship) and now he knows that he can trust me and that I am here to help. Elder Fred doesn’t feel accepted and it is because he tries so hard to be accepted he just rubs people the wrong way. As hard as it is at times I just love him and am his friend. By loving people you are able to help them. Service doesn’t lead to love, love leads to service.
By focusing on others and loving them as Christ would and following his direction I am able to help this District get back to being the GREATEST DISTRICT IN THE WORLD!!!!

Revelation is so real. I have no doubt about it. In the MTC I received the direct unmistakably clear revelation that I am here in New Mexico for other missionaries. Yes I am here to “invite OTHERS to come unto Christ by helping them receive the Restored Gospel, through faith in Jesus Christ and his atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost and enduring to the end”. “Others” includes other missionaries, I know that more so now than ever before. Yes I am here to find people teach them and baptize them and I will. But the one person I was sent to Farmington New Mexico for is a missionary. I don’t know who but I do know he is a missionary. I am excited to fulfill why I am here and I feel I am already doing it. As I read over my setting apart blessing from President Anderson I know that I am here for other missionaries. Love is the only way I am going to be able to do that.

Revelation is real and I am so thankful for the revelation I have received personally and for others and for others. I am constantly amazed at Heavenly Father’s love for his Children. I feel honored and humbled to serve them.

God is good my friends He loves you all and so do I. The Savior is real. I know that now more than ever. I cry every time I watch the bible videos. I knew my Savior before but I never loved Him the way I do know. I am so thankful for you all the support you give me.

1 John 14:15

Love Elder Johnston

Side note:  This was from an email Harrison sent to me personally.

Was my email boastful? I realized after I sent it that it could have come off that way? I sure hope it wasn’t.

 

Leave a Reply

