A place like no other!!!

Well here I am in New Mexico!! I am serving in the Kirtland 5th ward. Right next to Farmington. Our area is half reservation half small town. My companion Elder Guilman has only been out 6 weeks!! He didn’t even get to finish the 12 weeks of being trained and he is already training. It’s crazy. We are both learning a lot.
One thing I am really learning is that this mission is not like any other. You watch the district and they have like 9 investigators and pick up 3 more on the way to the lesson with them. Yeah that doesn’t happen here. We have one investigator, his name is R., he is a foster child living with someone in our ward, we had to get through the legal stuff but now we are good to teach him. We are actually going to teach him tonight. We also have 2 iffy investigators. Here nobody walks around out side, tracting is pretty much useless. No one wants to listen to us, especially out on the rez. It is hard to stay busy here and it is actually really discouraging. I feel like I am wasting not only mine, but God’s time. It is hard to find people.

Another thing, the rez is not at all what I thought it was going to be like. I thought it would be somewhat traditional. People living in tepees and hogans and farming for themselves things like that but no, it isn’t like that at all. The rez is just dirt roads, everything is spread out and everyone lives in either single or double wide trailers and everyone works off of the rez and nobody ever wants to talk to us. The only way to describe the reservation is rezzy, it means like really poor and spread out, hot, desolate, dirty and just rezzy. If you were to see it it would make more sense to you.

The thing I like least about this mission is the dogs. Everyone has dogs. Rez or town dogs are in almost every yard, usually 2 or 3 in every yard, We aren’t talking cute or playful or fun, I am talking mean viscous eat your right arm off dogs. This one house we walked up to to knock there was this dog who I guess didn’t notice us until we were at the top of the drive way when we made a little noise, it sees us and starts barking and 3 other dogs run around from behind the house and just start attacking us. Two go after me and two go after Elder Guilman (we both hate dogs) the first one starts biting at me and I have to keep moving my leg for it to miss. The other one goes to bite my shoe and I kick it right as it does, it leaves me alone but the other just keeps on attacking. Meanwhile Elder G. has taken of running and runs into the open fence trying to dodge the dogs. That is how it goes at almost every house. In my first four days I had to kick 6 dogs to prevent them from biting me. One new sister actually got bit a few days ago. I feel really bad. At this one house there were so many dogs. One changed up on the left side of the yard another on the right side of the yard barking and just yanking at there chain, you literally have to walk a strait and narrow path to get to the door. While a bunch of little dogs are biting at your feet. Even the little dogs here are mean. I kicked one cause it was biting at me but it just kept coming back. I really don’t like the dogs.

This week as been hard, disappointment, dogs, fear, discouragement, all leading to home sickness. We would be sitting there studying and I would get super home sick and start to cry so I would go sit on the toilet and just cry, then go say a prayer next to my bed just crying. The homesickeness would go away so I would go study again but it would come back later. It has been really hard lately. Things are starting to pick up so hopefully we can get a little busier and I won’t be so homesick.

I love you all and I am praying for you all!!

Love Elder Johston

2 Nephi 5:27

P.S. Also everyone my p-day is usually on Monday but yesterday we had the mission temple trip and drove up to Monticello to go to the temple so this week my p-day is today. The temple was super awesome. It is small but awesome.

This is us at the airport in Denver waiting for our flight to Durango. Elder Clark (my MTC companion, then me, then Elder Roskelly he is a stud, then Elder Wilcomb)

This is us at the airport in Denver waiting for our flight to Durango. Elder Clark (my MTC companion, then me, then Elder Roskelly he is a stud, then Elder Wilcomb)

This is our house, and our truck, and our study area and our bedroom and the bathroom(separated from the bedroom by a shower curtain)

This is our house, and our truck, and our study area and our bedroom and the bathroom(separated from the bedroom by a shower curtain)

IMG_5382 IMG_5383

Sent from a member at the Monticello Temple.

Sent from a member at the Monticello Temple.

One comment

  1. Grandma Covieo · October 1, 2015

    Elder Johnston I will be praying for you. I hope you will soon be feeling better. Heavenly Father knew you were a strong dependable person to send to this mission. I love you and will pray for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

